Governor's Office

සිංහල தமிழ் English

About Us.

The Western Province Governor’s Office Secretariat is considered as the landmark in the field of administration of the Western Provincial Council System. The Hon. Governor provides guidance in creating connectivity between the Provincial Council and the Central Government and for proper implementation of the activities in the Ministries, Departments and the Institutions in the Western Province.

The Secretariat of the Governor of the Western Province, considered as the first level administrative division of the country, is key to enhancing the functioning of other government institutes established in the Western Province.

About the Western Province.

The Western Province is one of the nine provinces of Sri Lanka, the first level administrative division of the country. The provinces have existed since the 19th century but did not have any legal status until 1987 when the 13th Amendment to the Constitution of Sri Lanka established provincial councils.

 The Western Province is the most densely populated province in the country and is home to the legislative capital Sri Jayewardenepura Kotte as well as to Colombo; the commercial capital of Sri Lanka, the nations administrative and business center.

Almost all the premier educational institutions in the island are located in the Western Province. Universities in the province includes the University of Colombo, University of Kelaniya, University of Moratuwa, University of Sri Jayewardenepura, Open University, Sri Lanka, Buddhist and Pali University of Sri Lanka, General Sir John Kotelawala Defence University, National Institute of Business Management and the Sri Lanka Institute of Information Technology. Having the highest population in all the provinces, Western Province has the largest number of schools in the country, which includes national, provincial, private and international schools.

The Western Province is divided into three administrative districts; Colombo, Gampaha and Kalutara, spanning an area of 3,684 KM, with 40 Divisional Secretary’s Divisions and 2,505 Grama Niladhari Divisions.


The Western Provincial Flag.

The flag of Western Province was adopted for the Western Province of Sri Lanka in 1987. The flag is bordered by four Bo leaves in the corners and comprises of three white rings in the middle. Within the first is a three headed golden snake, in the centre a golden lion with sword, and in the last a golden bird with sword.

The Western Provincial Flower.

Nymphaea Lotus, also known as White Lotus or Egyptian water lily, is a flowering plant of the family Nymphaea. The flower symbolizes purity and perseverance.


Contribute to sustainable development in the Western Province by implementation, direction and monitoring within the legal framework.



All administrative tasks are carried out by the Western Province Governors Office in a transparent manner.


Our Officers are attentive and respond in a timely manner.


We strive to provide a courteous, efficient and friendly service at all times whilst responding swiftly and accurately to avoid inconvenience to the public.


By using modern technology, work is carried out in a methodical and speedy manner.